Texting while driving could be outlawed
Texting while driving could soon be illegal in Alabama.
The state legislature passed HB2, a proposed ban on drivers communicating with an electronic device while operating a motor vehicle, last week.
Under the proposal, the first offense would result in a $25 fine, the second a $50 fine, and the third and subsequent offenses would result in $75 fines and two points on your driver’s license.
“Some say distracted driving is as dangerous or more dangerous than alcohol and drugs” said Sgt. Steve Jarrett with the Alabama Department of Public Safety.
Jarrett could not say whether or not he or the department supported the current bill sitting before Gov. Robert Bentley. More here.